Dropbox for Business tiered admins allow teams to have multiple admin roles, each with a different set of permissions. Using tiered admins can remove the burden of team management from a single admin. For example, a team admin can delegate the work of adding new members to a Dropbox for Business team, or resetting their passwords.


See below for answers to some FAQs on tiered admins, and scroll to the bottom of this article for a table that lays out the permissions for each admin role.


What are the different admin roles?


There are three tiers of Dropbox for Business admins:

  1. Team admin
  2. User management admin
  3. Support admin


What are the differences between the three admin roles?

  • Team admins can set team-wide security and sharing permissions, create admins, and manage members. The team admin has all available admin permissions. Only team admins can set other team members as admins or change admin roles, and there must always be at least one team admin on a Dropbox for Business account.
  • User management admins can address most team management tasks, including adding and removing team members, managing Groups, and viewing a team's activity feed. Any team member can be set as a user management admin.
  • Support admins can manage passwords and basic account security, and create a team-member activity log. Support admins can also contact Dropbox support regarding common service requests like restoring deleted files or helping team members locked out of two-step authentication. Any team member can be set as a support admin.


Why should my team use tiered admin roles?


Having multiple admin roles allows teams to work more efficiently, and allows team admins to delegate responsibility with more granular control. The tiered admin structure means that team admins do not need to be present to manage day-to-day tasks like resetting passwords, and can share access with those who need regular reporting or team usage data.


How can I tell which admin role a team member has?

  1. Sign in to the Dropbox website and open the Admin Console
  2. Select the Members tab
  3. You will see a User Type column, and an entry next to each team member’s name that specifies work role (member, support admin, user management admin, or team admin)

Members Page



Who can set other team members as admins, or promote or demote admins?


Only team admins can create admins or change admin roles.


How do I add or change admin permissions for a team member?

  1. Sign in to the Dropbox website and open the Admin Console
  2. Select the Members tab
  3. In the members tab, click the gear icon at the right side of each member row and then click Add admin permissions (if the person is not yet an admin) or Change admin permissions (if the person is already an admin).


Change Permissions



Permissions Options




Where can I see a breakdown of the individual permissions available to each admin tier?



Team admin

User management admin

Support admin

Org-wide Settings




Enroll in early-access programs

Yes
No

No

Global authentication settings

Yes
No

No

3rd-party app linking

Yes
No

No

Change global sharing controls

Yes
No

No

Create/remove team folders

Yes
No

No

Adjust group members

Yes
Yes
Yes

User Management




Initiate domain invites

Yes
Yes
No

Invite/remove team members

Yes

Yes

No

Change team member email

Yes

Yes

Yes

Send invitation reminders

Yes

Yes

Yes

Transfer accounts

Yes

Yes

No

Delete non-admin members

Yes

Yes

No

Reset non-admin passwords

Yes

Yes

Yes

Close non-admin web sessions

Yes
Yes Yes

Close admin web sessions

Yes
No No

Create/assign admin roles

Yes
No No

Reset admin passwords

Yes
No No

Create/modify/delete groups

Yes
Yes Yes

Viewing permissions




Non-admin activity reports

Yes
Yes Yes

View members tab

Yes
Yes Yes

View accounts tab

Yes
No No

View company activity feed

Yes
Yes No

View dashboard

Yes
Yes Yes

View team member profiles

Yes
Yes Yes

Account settings




Add licenses

Yes
No No

Access billing tab

Yes
No No

Change account tab

Yes
No No

Access help & contact support

Yes
Yes Yes